Top Five FAVOURITE dishes I enjoy!!

So to kick off this post, I am going to tell you guys that I am fasting today, but yet my mind canโ€™t seem to handle all the cravings, so I have decided to sit down and draft up this post for you guys. At least, I can salivate on the pictures and imagine the dishes in front of me! ๐Ÿ˜„!

1. Nasi katok

https://ayamgolekpiah.wordpress.com/20160204_184451_thumb2/

Number one on the list, presenting NASI KATOK, this will never ever change no matter how old I grow, I just love nasi katok! This dish originates in Brunei and I simply canโ€™t get enough of it when I am on vacation there. In most places it just costs $1 (BND), which is pretty cheap and is quite filling as well. It acts as a very good midnight snack; in case you do have dinner but your still hungry (thatโ€™s sooo meโœ‹).

The meaning of nasi katok is kinda funny but it does live up to its meaning, Nasi translates to rice, while katok means knocking. In the old days when someone was hungry during the midnight hours, they would knock on the door of a food outlet and request for food. The sleepy owners therefore prepared a simple dish of rice, sambal, and fried chicken. It might seem simple, but the complexity of its taste still resides on my tongue! ๐Ÿ˜‚

Taste Rating-5/5

2. Kutly

Indian dish by origin but is made in many different ways and every way is simply heaven! Kutly is where mini idly pieces are soaked in sambar.

Thereโ€™s this one restaurant in Sri Lanka called Shanmugas, and they make the best Kutly dish ever, itโ€™s a must try! ๐Ÿ˜! But one thing I find about Kutly is that if you are by any chance a foodie (like me) then Kutly by itself will not satisfy your appetite as itโ€™s a very light dish by nature, so I suggest you pair it up with another light dish or have a heavy dessert! ๐Ÿ’

Definition of sambar- a soupy Indian dish, made with lentils, mixed vegetables, tamarind, herbs, spices & a special spice powder known as sambar powder/masala. This dish is almost similar to dhal curry!

Taste Rating-5/5

3. Fish head Curry

The ideal place to try this, I would say is Malaysia, Brunei (these are the places Iโ€™ve tried it at) or the ASEAN countries. Fish Head curry is a Singaporean cuisine, mixed with roots from India and Chinese origins! For me this dish with rice is all you possibly need to have. Itโ€™s soo yum yet the rich gravy with all the veggies added makes it a perfectly filling dish.๐Ÿ˜‹!

Want to read about my experience at KK with fish head curry?

Click here!

Taste Rating- 4.8/5

4. Rice Dumpling balls (thakkadi)

Photo credits to- The Cooking Diary
Watch the video at- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8stAXwem_9g

This my mom makes and is purely scrumptious, it takes a lot of work ๐Ÿ˜ถ, but the effort is well deserved for the results at the end. Basically, its dumplings made of flour, cooked and soaked in beef or chicken gravy. At home we mostly use the bony type of meat for this dish as it increases the flavorings.

This is a Sri Lankan dish and originates from the moor community in my country. So, you want to eat this youโ€™ve got to visit a Sri Lankan moor house, as Iโ€™ve never seen it being made in restaurants as of yet! ๐Ÿ˜…!

Taste Rating- 5/5

5. Biryani

I had to include a classic. Iโ€™ll never get tired of eating biryani ๐Ÿ˜‹! Its this one food I look forward to eat, at weddings! I think the wedding biryanis are the best soo far, with the right amount of spice, meat and color. Biryani you can always find easily if you live near an Indian, food outlet, then biryani is a staple they would surely have! ๐Ÿคฉ! Or you can make biryani at home too, itโ€™s not that difficult of a task, biryani masalas should be readily available at stores nearby.

OOf! Now that’s a LOTT of salivating! Bye Stormies!

-NabeeHa๐Ÿ’“

22 thoughts on “Top Five FAVOURITE dishes I enjoy!!

    1. That’s cause according to the islamic calendar, it was the month of Shaaban, and it’s a good deed if you fast on particular days of this month!:) So, I decided to fast in order to get close to my Lord!:)โค! Glad you asked!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Assalamualikum!! I learned a lot about Brunei from your post :O. I didn’t know we shared a similar food pallet. I think loving ‘Biryani’ is a universal thing :D. It’s 5:37 am here In Pakistan and I am already hungry xD.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thatโ€™s actually a really creative way to deal with cravings that I never even thought of! Next time I feel like stress eating before exams Iโ€™ll just start writing posts about dessert, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment